What Becomes

I haven’t blogged in a while and will get around to it soon, but in the meantime, here’s an extract from A.L. Kennedy’s short story What Becomes:

No one ever helps. I just stay at home and the light bulbs die and the ceilings crack and everything electrical is not exactly as it should be – there are many faults – and I call the helplines and they don’t, I call all kinds of people and they don’t help, I spend hours on the phone and I get no answers that have any meaning, I get no sense – there are constantly these things going wrong, incessantly, every day, and I want to stop them and I could stop them but no one helps and I cant manage on my own.

1 comment
  1. Nadir Hassan said:

    My favourite bit from What Becomes:

    “We are not all connected. We are bags of skin. We are all separate bags of thinking skin.”

    Yeah, I had to Google that to get it exactly right.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

