In memory of Asim Butt.

On January 15th 2010, my friend Asim Butt, and an extremely talented artist, passed away in Karachi. A week later,  I wish I had the words to write something that could capture what Asim was about, his contagious enthusiasm, his attention to detail, his passion for art a thing of envy.

There are brief snapshots I’m left with, Asim on Bhopal House’s roof, Asim in his bright orange kurta, Asim on his birthday, his fingers stained with paint as he worked in his studio, his smile, his changing moods, his talent and his love for his friends.

Eventually, there is nothing really left to say, except how I wish I could bring time back, and tell Asim how much I loved him, how much he meant to me and so many of his friends and how proud he made us. And above all, how I wish he was still here.

Rest in peace Asim.

2 comments
  1. Mars said:

    Indeed.. Rest in Peace Asim.

Leave a Reply

